Borders Schließen von Türen und die Bedeutung der Bücher

A Picture of a eBook

Image via Wikipedia

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves. ~Anna Quindlen, “Enough Bookshelves,” New York Times, 7 August 1991

Border is closing. I know it is old news, but I’m still thinking about what that means to books. When I say books, I mean the object books, the one you can grab, write on, see the mark of your tears when you open that sad story again. I know this has been an over talked topic, the end of newspapers with the Internet and technology like iPads and the end of books with the eBooks. But for some reason, when Borders said they would close their doors, I was shocked. Not because Borders was really my type of book store (I prefer small ones), but because what this really means to the book business and to my feelings of nostalgia.

I have this argument all the time with my boyfriend, a totally addict to his Kindle eBook, but I really believe books will not end. I know that history has shown differently with other items, so thought, irreplaceable objects. One example is VHS. First, I believe that maybe this symbolizes the end of the “big businesses” of books. Since books are now only one way in which you can read stories, there either need to be bookstores with more aspects than just selling books or bookstores need to reduce their sizes. I always preferred to go to second hang bookstores in my neighborhood or even just smaller bookstores with a good atmosphere. Bookstores owners got to the point that the mere action of selling a book isn’t enough anymore, they need the whole package. New and old books, eBooks, events, good atmosphere and whatever is out there.

I could list many aspects of why I just LOVE books, but many people love books because of the stories they tell. But I also love the object book, not only the stories. I always did. I remember I used to go every Sunday with my friend to second-hand bookstores and that’s how we spent our afternoons. There were days that I knew I wouldn’t buy any book, but I would go anyway. They inspire me just to look at them. So to imagine a world where there won’t be the object “book” anymore makes me sad. I have no “real” reasoning to why they should not end. I know things change, technology comes, that we will save trees and all of that; but I feel like a stubborn girl tapping her foot and saying, “I want books to stay how they are.”

Leave a Reply

