Was ich freue mich darauf, im Herbst und Winter

Once spring came, I wrote this very exciting post about how happy I was for having sun again. Well, months went by and here I am anticipating another scary German winter. Fall isn’t here yet, I know. But the temperature dropped like crazy and it made me think about seasons again.

I never thought I would say this, but I’m slightly excited about fall and winter. I do miss longer summers, but let’s look at the positive side of all this.

So here are the things I look forward in a “real” fall and winter:

–       (hmmm ok, this is kind of hard) …

–       ok, serious now: Christmas Markets.

They are my favorite part of the German/European winter. I especially love the ones in smaller towns because of their original style and welcoming environment. The food is great, the glühwine makes you warm and cozy, and sometimes the markets also have little dancing/singing shows. I particularly don’t like the big ones in key tourist centers (Marienplatz and Karlsplatz) because they don’t offer a lot of original food and drinks are not as good.

–       Snow.

I have a love/hate relationship with snow. Around December last year I couldn’t wait until we got snow, after a month I was over it. But for some reason, this year I already can’t wait to have tea in my apt while looking the snow falling outside. It sounds cheesy, but it is truly great. Also, I think many towns in Germany look WAY cuter in the winter, it just adds to the whole atmosphere. Also, with snow comes sliding afternoons and maybe this year, even skiing lessons.

–       More time inside my apt.

I know this is odd, but because the summer here is so short that I was always outside trying to absorb every heat and sun available. Now I want some down time for reading books (suggestions: Hundred Years of Solitude, Yes Man, The Help), painting, knitting, watching great movies (suggestions: The Whistleblower, The Interpreter, Almanya), and having cooking projects (good website: All Recipes).

–       Wearing tights.

I love socks and tights, sometimes I wear so many together that I break my boots’ zippers =/ It is a long story, but hopefully I won’t get too excited and break another one this winter. If you are looking for an awesome tight store in Munich, there is this one at the beginning of Herzogstrasse coming from Münchener Freiheit.

–       House parties.

I love just going to a friend’s house to drink, eat, and talk. Some call me too old, but this is my favorite way to spend time with friends. Dennis and I are thinking of a Halloween party on our apt this year and more game nights this winter.

I hope you all have fun with your fall and winter activities, let me know of other fun ways to spend the colder seasons.

Leave a Reply

